A Musical Note: Rolf Harris – Sun Arise

Australian born renaissance man, Rolf Harris is known for his acting, comedy performances, painting and drawing, and of course song-writing and singing… and chances are, if you live in the US,  you’ve never heard of him. 

Most of his songs were comedic in nature, but one, very early on in his career was poetic and powerful—at least in my opinion.  The song is called “Sun Arise” and almost feels like it could be a part of the Aborigine culture.  Pay attention to the instruments used, and as always, TURN IT UP!  I’ve loved this song since my High School days (that was shortly after the invention of High School, if you must know).  I’m hoping you will love it as well.

9 responses to “A Musical Note: Rolf Harris – Sun Arise

  1. It’s become a real delight looking forward to these musical posts. Not going to go after the written lyrics for this one because they came across ‘so clear’. What a wonderful song of praise. Thank you Rik Scott.
    (P.S. I have the feeling that I’ve heard this before, but that might have been because it struck such a chord of intimacy within me as I listened to its beautiful rhythm and lyrics.)

  2. Why not! Here. That’s my job done, and lyrics complete.

    Oh!
    Sun Arise come every mornin’
    Sun Arise come every mornin’
    Sun Arise come every mornin’
    Bringin’ back the warmth to the ground

    Sun Arise fillin’ up the hollow
    Sun Arise fillin’ up the hollow
    Sun Arise fillin’ up the hollow
    Bringin’ back the warmth to the ground

    Sun Arise, she come every mornin’
    Sun Arise, each and every day
    Sun Arise, she come every mornin’
    Sun Arise
    ever-y ever-y ever-y ever-y day

    She drive away the darkness everyday
    She drive away the darkness everyday
    She drive away your darkness everyday
    Bringin’ back the warmth to the ground

    Sun Arise
    Whoa-oh-oh
    Sun Arise
    Whoa-oh-oh
    Sun Arise
    Whoa-oh-oh
    ever-y ever-y ever-y ever-y day

  3. Pingback: A Musical Note: Rolf Harris – Sun Arise (via Uphill Writing) « Aardvarkian Tales

  4. I’ve always loved his Tie Me Kangaroo Down Sport!

    Thanks, Rik

  5. Emily (Meems)

    This is AWESOME!!!

  6. I’ve been referred to this by the great Aardvark 🙂

    I grew up with Rolf Harris’ music and comedy and have fond memories of some of his music.

    Though in my 24 years on this earth, all of which have taken place in Australia, I am still yet to tie a kangaroo down, and I am not actually sure what that even means. But he makes it sound like fun doesn’t he.

    I don’t need to tell you that you write brilliantly do I Rik, you surely know that, so I’ll just send you a big grin 🙂

Leave a Reply

