A Musical Note: Sniff and the Tears – Driver’s Seat

Sniff ‘n’ the Tears is a British rock band best known for their 1978 song “Driver’s Seat”, and for those of discerning eye, the amazing photo-realistic art on the covers of some of their albums.   

Image: itshouldhavebeenahit.blogspot.com

(From Wikipedia) The genesis of the song dates back to 1973 and a demo tape recorded for a French record label by singer/guitarist Paul Roberts for the band Ashes of Moon. However, that band broke up and, at the suggestion of drummer Luigi Salvoni, Roberts reformed it as Sniff ‘n’ the Tears with guitarists Laurence “Loz” Netto and Mick Dyche and bassist Nick South. They shopped the demo tape and signed with the small Chiswick label in 1977. One of the key decisions made during the recording of “Driver’s Seat” was to start the song with Roberts’ acoustic guitar and drums and gradually fade in other instruments.

According to Paul Roberts, “Driver’s Seat” isn’t about driving, but rather “fragmented, conflicting thoughts and emotions that might follow the break-up of a relationship”.

As always, TURN IT UP!

I offer, Driver’s Seat by Sniff and the Tears:

7 responses to “A Musical Note: Sniff and the Tears – Driver’s Seat

  1. Doing alright
    A little jiving on a Saturday night
    And come what may
    Gonna dance the day away

    Jenny was sweet
    Show a smile for the people she needs
    I’m trouble, let’s drive,
    I don’t know the way you came alive

    News is blue (the news is blue)
    Has its own way to get to you
    What can I do (what can I do)
    When I remember my time with you

    Pick up your feet
    Got to move to the trick of the beat
    There is no lead
    Just take your place in the driver’s seat

    Driver’s seat, oohoo, driver’s seat, yeah

    Doing alright
    A little jiving on a Saturday night
    And come what may
    Gonna dance the day away

    Driver’s seat, oohoo, driver’s seat, yeah

    Jenny was sweet
    There is no lead
    Pick up your feet, pick up, pick up
    Pick up your feet, gonna dance the day away

    Driver’s seat, oohoo, driver’s seat, yeah
    Driver’s seat, oohoo, driver’s seat, yeah
    Driver’s seat…

  2. This is the first time a song didn’t ‘ring through’ to me. Maybe because I’m too concerned about getting in the ‘driver’s seat’. Anyway, don’t want to complain, because I appreciate too much what you’re doing here. All the best and thank you for the post.

  3. It actually had some success here in SA 🙂
    Still gets radio time on our local station’s Solid Gold Sunday.

  4. OK. I had to come back to it, and just re-listened, (it’s like rewriting!!) with the lyrics in front of me, so I’m more than OK with it now.
    Really brilliant orchestration and arrangement. It is interesting that there are so many smaller bands who don’t quite make it good time, but which are brilliant like this one. Thank you for making me aware of them, Rik Scott. Maybe first time, round I just couldn’t absorb it all, but I did manage to give a good listen just now, and I was rewarded for it.

  5. That’s just my habit. If there is something I generally return to it, as I have tried with hatch, to see whether or not a better (two-way) interpretation is possible. There was intricate exchanges of themes in this work of a real professional caliber, which I missed the first time because all my energies were directed to trying to understand the lyrics. That’s a bit how it goes with people sometimes, I find.
    P.S. Hatch has still not forgotten about my remark that she was a ‘phony bitch’ – she has posted a full criticism on one of today’s posts. Not fully accurate I feel, and I’m wondering whether to give up, but then I know she will visit here, and I’ll still be open to her comments. (whether direct or indirect)

  6. If there is something I don’t like, I generally ….etc.
    This is what I call re-writing. It’s not ‘finding the best’, but in what I look at as the most important, but finding the best in me. Occasionally, as in this song there’s a correspondence.

Leave a Reply

