A Musical Note: Sinead O’Connor – Nothing Compares 2U

Today’s song and video are haunting for two reasons.  If you know the song, it will bring back memories instantly, and if you’ve never heard it before, I envy you.  You’re in for a treat.  Not only is the song a wonderful piece of work, the video is captivating… if you’re into this kind of thing.  )) 

Nothing Compares 2 U” is a song written in the 1980s by Prince for The Family. In 1990, a recording of the song by Sinéad O’Connor became a number-one hit in many countries, charting in the U.S., UK, Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Canada, and Germany, and launched O’Connor’s mainstream career.

Listen and enjoy:

Sinead O’Connor – Nothing Compares 2 U
Embedding fails, please click through to listen.

4 responses to “A Musical Note: Sinead O’Connor – Nothing Compares 2U

  1. It’s been seven hours and fifteen days
    Since you took your love away
    I go out every night and sleep all day
    Since you took your love away
    Since you been gone I can do whatever I want
    I can see whomever I choose
    I can eat my dinner in a fancy restaurant
    But nothing
    I said nothing can take away these blues
    `Cause nothing compares
    Nothing compares to you

    It’s been so lonely without you here
    Like a bird without a song
    Nothing can stop these lonely tears from falling
    Tell me baby where did I go wrong
    I could put my arms around every boy I see
    But they’d only remind me of you
    I went to the doctor n’guess what he told me
    Guess what he told me
    He said girl u better try to have fun
    No matter what you’ll do
    But he’s a fool
    `Cause nothing compares
    Nothing compares to you

    all the flowers that you planted, mama
    In the back yard
    All died when you went away
    I know that living with you baby was sometimes hard
    But I’m willing to give it another try
    Nothing compares
    Nothing compares to you
    Nothing compares
    Nothing compares to you
    Nothing compares
    Nothing compares to you

  2. Of all the music videos you have posted so far, I must submit that this is the most BEAUTIFUL. Loved it when I heard it long ago, but what a wonderful thing to see the singer etc.
    Posting on Spirit today about the death of God, She thinks I’m an atheist and that I don’t believe in the Spirit within. Think I’ll keep her guessing. Like I’m gonna tell her. She knows enough.
    But did you notice the Christian iconography and was that a priest in the background. Could this be about the loss of God? Just wondering. Just a thought that came because of the background choices. Will check lyrics now to see possibilities of it panning out….but I’ll not press the issue cause it’s just an interesting thought.

  3. Sorry! But after doing the research link above on her history etc. I might say that I don’t have a bad intuition at all. religious interests, Irish, eh! grin grin. mama mentioned. Poor affiliation perhaps but the ‘hints’ I would suggest are there.

    • Her interpretation of course, though, of Prince, and thus an explanation of the mama. But still ‘religious’…..

Leave a Reply

