A Musical Note: Helen Reddy – Angie Baby

I’ve said before that my taste in music is wide and varied.

Like my taste in fiction, however, I’ve always leaned toward the odd—and only sometime bizarre.

Helen Reddy, yet another Australian-born singer, had a string of successful songs.  Probably the most important of her songs, for its day, was her hit, “I Am Woman”.

Today’s song is a bit off the beaten path—what a surprise—and it is truly a lyrical song.  By that I mean if you only tap your toe or snap your fingers… if you only mark the beat, and do not listen, really listen, to the lyrics, you’ll be missing quite a ride.

I give you, Angie Baby, by Helen Reddy.

6 responses to “A Musical Note: Helen Reddy – Angie Baby

  1. You live your life in the songs you here
    on your rock and roll radio
    and when a young girl doesn’t have any friends
    it’s a really nice place to go
    folks hoping you’d turn out cool
    but they had to take you out of school
    you’re a little touched you know
    angie baby

    lovers appear in your room each night
    as they whirl accross the floor
    but they always seem to fade away
    when your daddy taps on your door
    angie girl are you alright?
    tell the radio goodnight
    all alone once more angie baby

    Chorus
    angie baby
    you’re a special lady
    living in a world of make believe
    well maybe

    stopping at her house is a neighbour boy
    with evil on his mind
    cos he’s been peeking in angies room
    at the night through the window blind
    I see your folks have gone away
    won’t you dance with me today
    I’ll show you how to have a good time
    angie baby

    ( angie baby ) (angie baby )

    when he walks in the room
    he feels confused
    like he walked into a play
    and the music’s so loud
    it spins him around
    till his soul has lost it’s way
    and as she turns the volume down
    he’s getting smaller with the sound
    it seems to pull him off the ground
    no more the radio is bound
    never to be found

    the headlines read that a boy disapeared
    and everyone thinks he died
    except a crazy girl with a secret lover
    who keeps him satisfied
    it’s so nice to be insane
    no one asked you to explain
    radio by your side
    angie baby

    Chorus
    angie baby
    you’re a special lady
    living in a world of make believe
    well maybe
    well maybe
    well maybe

    well maybe

  2. Well, I couldn’t wait to read the lyrics on this one. Maybe I’ve read a bit more into it though by reading beyond the lines, as its’ said.
    But thank you, Richard, I will compliment myself that I can regard my work as potentially fitting into your oeuvre of works that would be likable. I really love Angie, and your taste generally.

    • You just never know, Loreen. Sometimes the music makes people smile, sometimes they wonder what I’ve been smokin’.
      Sigh

      • I just wondered whether there was a ‘darker’ side to this lyric, especially with it ending well maybe, well maybe.
        I always jump when it’s time to get your postings, but I’ve been wondering whether I’m a little too eager to please the other eager beavers. So maybe on these it doesn’t matter, and posting the lyrics allows others to read along, but I was just wondering. The contest on the Wisdom is the one that I am pulling back on especially. Don’t really want to be thought competitive. Anyway, I don’t think it my ‘fault’ that I’m a favorite fan of this Blog. It is a good Blog, and your postings are always ‘right on time’. Helps me a lot anyway expecting when I can read the next one..

        • Maybe she’s keeping the boy by her side. Hard to figure this one…..But that’s madness- what’s perception and what’s idea.

  3. I loved Reddy’s “I am Woman.” I also like her song “You and Me Against the World.”

Leave a Reply

