A Musical Note: Ray Thomas – Adam and I

The younger among you may not be familiar with The Moody Blues, an English band that formed in the 60s. 

They went through several changes of personnel and styles before becoming one of the most influential bands of their time.

Each member was extremely talented, and each had a very distinctive voice.  My favorite of the group was always Ray Thomas who’s vibrato voice was like no other.  Ray also played the flute for many of the bands most popular songs.

For a brief while the Moody Blues pursued their private careers, and during that time Ray Thomas recorded an album called “From Might Oaks”.   The album is superb, with many memorable tracks.  Of all of them, however, my favorite is one he wrote for his son, Adam.

Adam and I is a song that never fails to produce a strong emotional impact for me.  I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do.

5 responses to “A Musical Note: Ray Thomas – Adam and I

  1. Ray Thomas Adam and I Lyrics:
    (Ray Thomas and Nicky James)
    I waited so long, for you to come along,
    Hoping and praying, my love would bear a son,
    Now I see that love, it shines within your eyes.
    We’re gonna take our journey, Adam and I.
    We’ll ignore all boarders, for our spirit must stay free,
    Free as the wind that blows, there’s so much for you to see,
    We’ll ride on a moonbeam, and never pass one by,
    We’re gonna take our journey, Adam and I.
    When we reach the land of the setting sun,
    You’ll be overjoyed, you’ll see the sights,
    So reach and take your father’s hand
    And may the Lord have mercy on our flight,
    Adam and I, Adam and I, Adam and I, and I.
    The river of life flows swiftly, into the sea of time,
    Our lives were made for living, my joy is in your smile,
    We’ll talk to the heron, and he can teach us how to fly,
    We’re gonna take our journey, Adam and I.
    Our Lord is in his heaven, He watches us below,
    His seed was made for sowing, and we reap what we sow,
    But he’s a man of love, divine he’s on high,
    We’re gonna take our journey, Adam and I.
    Adam and I, Adam and I, Adam and I,
    My son and I.

  2. What a delight for me to find when I opened this post you talking about the Moody Blues. They were the musicians I absolutely adored, way back when. I even paid to see them when they came to the O’Keefe Center; something that was usually ‘beyond me’. But it is especially good that you fill me in on all of these details on life, and the performers, etc. I’ve missed out on a lot, being buried in the books as I have. So this whole experience, is really ‘great’ for me. Really loved this song; it reminded me of the wonderful aspirations I had when I had my two children. All the best.
    And thank you, Richard.

    • Yeah… this one is one of those tear jerkers for me. I always sing along, and if I’m in the car (alone), really loudly. Ray’s work is top notch. I’ve loved everything he’s recorded. “For My Lady” is astounding, and his “Timothy Leary’s Dead” is a true classic.

      • Just so you know I appreciated your response> I did track down at least the lyrics for ‘For My Lady’ and ‘Timothy Leary’s Dead’. In the latter case I wasn’t part of the 60’s drug culture, so the lyrics didn’t send me ‘spinning’. But I really thought his eulogy to the lady was excellent. (I’m just not good at finding on You Tube – you know – my computer illiteracy/alliteracy. But thank you, Richard.

  3. Excellent pick.

    Love his voice . . . immediately heard Timothy Leary.

    Fave lyrics (thanks, Loreen!):

    The river of life flows swiftly, into the sea of time,
    Our lives were made for living, my joy is in your smile

Leave a Reply

