A Musical Note: Simon and Garfunkle – The Sounds of Silence

 

If you have been following the Musical Note segment, you’ll know by now that I have a deep, abiding love for music, a kinship, really.

In fact, I believe that listening to, and really appreciating music is every much a musical talent as making the music.  The previous statement will seem fatuous to most, but to those of you who really listen with a critical ear, who look for the games the composer does with melody, who studies the lyrics, and really works to understand, I think you will know what I mean.

Music has the ability to touch us in ways that written word, even video media cannot.  It was as though music can get past the forebrain and into the seat of emotions and non-verbal understanding.

It really doesn’t matter how you listen to music, or why.  It is time now to listen to a song.

One thing I’ll say about “The Sounds of Silence” is it was the first song I ever sat down and memorized.  There are a lot of songs stuck in this old head of mine, but this one was the first that got there on purpose.

I give you Simon and Garfunkel and The Sounds of Silence.

6 responses to “A Musical Note: Simon and Garfunkle – The Sounds of Silence

  1. Hello darkness, my old friend
    I’ve come to talk with you again
    Because a vision softly creeping
    Left its seeds while I was sleeping
    And the vision that was planted in my brain
    Still remains
    Within the sound of silence

    In restless dreams I walked alone
    Narrow streets of cobblestone
    ‘Neath the halo of a street lamp
    I turned my collar to the cold and damp
    When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
    That split the night
    And touched the sound of silence

    And in the naked light I saw
    Ten thousand people, maybe more
    People talking without speaking
    People hearing without listening
    People writing songs that voices never share
    And no one dared
    Disturb the sound of silence

    “Fools”, said I, “You do not know
    Silence like a cancer grows
    Hear my words that I might teach you
    Take my arms that I might reach you”
    But my words, like silent raindrops fell
    And echoed
    In the wells of silence

    And the people bowed and prayed
    To the neon god they made
    And the sign flashed out its warning
    In the words that it was forming
    And the sign said, “The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls
    And tenement halls”
    And whispered in the sounds of silence

  2. Yes. Hello darkness, my old friend – I’ve come to talk to you again.
    I believe in letting darkness into the spirit of light. I believe in the spirit of this song. I believe it is true what you say about music. I have been blessed in my life, ruminating over Bach, Mozart and Beethoven, and singing the songs of Joanie Baez. And it is a blessing being a visitor always on this blog. And getting back to the ‘darkness’ of my book, in order to resurrect the past. All is well. Thank you, Richard for bringing some of my youth back to me.

  3. Ricky,
    What a lovely post!
    It brought back many beautiful memories from childhood. This was one of my father’s favorite.
    As eclecticism goes; the “Padrenuestro” was sung with that melody back there where I was born.

  4. Had to come back to listen to it one more time, this time following the written lyrics. Yes. the sound of silence IS under all that ‘talk without listening’. It’s the emotion that I’m interested too to follow up on McCumber’s Poetic Interaction. That’s what he’s talking about. Catching the emotion in the silence. I loved the introduction, that there are words without love. I have to learn too to talk ‘poetically’. Just listened to a ‘friend’ complain over the phone for a long time, and have just come to understand that Nietzsche knew what he was talking about when he said that all complaint was a form of revenge. So I have done that too, on this blog. Thank you, again, Richard.

  5. My favorite S and G song is Bridge Over Troubled Water, the big song on their last album.

  6. I love S & G. ♥♥ My son took me to a concert here in the Bay Area a few years ago. It was wonderful. My son liked them too so it was something we could share rather than my having to listen to other forms of teen music when he was young. What a relief.

Leave a Reply

