Blogosphere: When the Mind Wanders

Continued from Part Twenty-Eight   

New to the Series?  Start with Part One                   

Blogosphere: A series
Part Twenty-Nine:  Are You Still on Target?
   

Image: I made this one.

You have, perhaps, been Blogging for a while now, and you’ve stayed true to your topic—ever a good idea.  Your readers have come to expect a certain quality from your work, as well as a consistent “message”.   

Suddenly there’s a problem.   

You’ve gotten into the habit of noting every possible Blog topic that falls into your area of expertise.  You’ve built up a fair number of future post concepts, and feel good about what you’ve done.  Then you notice that your mind is firing on other cylinders as well.  You’ve got some exciting and insightful things to say that are outside of the declared topic of your Blog.  You’ve Blogged yourself into a corner.   

What do you do?   

Lean closer, I’m going to share one powerful secret.  No, closer still.  Good.  Here it is.    

Image: Bill Frymire: http://www.billfrymire.com

Save your off-topic posts for your own Guest Blogger visits.  Look over the subject lists of your fellow Bloggers (your Blogroll is a great place to start, also your Blogging Support group), find the person who has a topic that most closely matches your idea, and contact them with a proposal to do a Guest Blogger session with them.   

Typically they will love it (it gets them off the hook for a post or two), it gets them more readers because there is no reason you can’t announce your GB status on your friend’s Blog, which gives both Blogs a bit of a leg up, and it exposes you to the readers of your friend’s Blog.  What I call a win-win-win-win situation.   

Never let a good post go to waste, especially if it can do what the Buddhists calls “Skillful Means”.  Do one thing and get multiple benefits from it.   

Continued in Part Thirty

5 responses to “Blogosphere: When the Mind Wanders

  1. My (negative) Blog-o-me ‘Manifesto’
    Have made the decision to put the prospects of having a b blog on hold for awhile. I’m thinking too much at the moment of ‘keeping up with the Jones’ who already have a blog. I fear sometimes I fall into an almost self-pity.(not quite) I’ll just be a person without a vote so to speak. So if it’s just not an option for the moment, I’ll stop thinking about being part of the ‘competition’, and just put my comments in response to the opportunities I have to do that. A little deflated ego may be possible along the way, but it will be good practice to handle it.
    I’m not a read many books at a time person, so I think it’s just as well to concentrate on the Trilogy. If all goes well, I expect I could look forward to ‘blogging’ within four years, five at the most. It’ll be something to ‘look forward’ to for my ‘old age’. And I’m really looking forward to it. By that time I will be thoroughly familiar with how friends of Uphill handle their own blogs; I will be learning by observing all the time. By then too, I’ll know whether or not I will/can have some ‘authority’ ……As nrhatch would say — good plan.

  2. Rik ~ you hit the bulls eye with this one!

    Loreen ~ starting a blog is the best thing I’ve ever done, with respect to writing. (Thanks, Rik!)

    I never see my blog as being “in competition” with other blogs since the subject matters are all so different ~ as are the rates of posting. Some people post every day, others just a few times a week. Others even less frequently.

    Many (like Agatha, Rik, Jo, Cindy, Nancy) write blogs while they are working on more serious writing projects ~ using the blog to share their progress with interested readers.

    You, of course, need to listen to your own wisdom on this, but waiting 4-5 years may mean that you never launch a blog . . . and they are ever so much fun. : )

  3. Pingback: Blogosphere: A Nasty Noise « Uphill Writing

  4. Pingback: Blogosphere: Staying at the Top of Your Game « Uphill Writing

Leave a Reply

