A Musical Note: Fatboy Slim (and Christopher Walken) – Weapon of Choice

Typically the theme of this feature is a piece of music, and while Fatboy Slim’s “Weapon of Choice” is the background, the foreground is an incredible dance number by Christopher Walken.  He was 58 when he made this video

Walken had a notable music video performance in 2001 with Fatboy Slim’s Weapon of Choice. Directed by Spike Jonze, it won six MTV awards in 2001 and—in a list of the top 100 videos of all time compiled from a survey of musicians, directors, and music industry figures conducted by UK music TV channel VH1—won Best Video of All Time in April 2002. In this video, Walken dances and flies around the lobby of the Marriott Hotel in Los Angeles; Walken also helped choreograph the dance. Also in 2001, Walken played a gangster who was in the witness protection program in the David Spade comedy Joe Dirt and an eccentric film director in America’s Sweethearts.

The chances are excellent that you have seen this before.  It’s been around for awhile.  If you have, I’m sure you’ll enjoy the slap from the past.  If you have never seen this before, you are in for a treat.

I give you Christopher Walkin’, er Walken, dancin’.

A better version, sound and vison, but not embedable: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K7Ky5R-vxns&feature=av2e

5 responses to “A Musical Note: Fatboy Slim (and Christopher Walken) – Weapon of Choice

  1. FATBOY SLIM LYRICS

    Send “Weapon Of Choice” Ringtone to your Cell

    “Weapon Of Choice”

    Don’t be shocked by the tone of my voice
    Check out my new weapon, weapon of choice

    Don’t be shocked by the tone of my voice
    Check out my new weapon, weapon of choice

    Listen to the sound of my voice
    You can check it all out, it’s the weapon of choice

    Don’t be shocked by the tone of my voice
    It’s the new weapon, weapon of choice

    [2x Chorus:]
    You can go with this,
    Or you can go with that,
    You can go with this,
    Or you can go with that,
    You can go with this,
    Or you can go with that,
    Or you can throw with (us) [only the 1st time]

    Walk without rhythm
    it won’t attrack the worm

    Walk without rhythm
    and it won’t attrack the worm

    Walk without rhythm
    and it won’t attrack the worm

    If you walk without rhythm
    ah, you never learn

    Don’t be shocked by the tone of my voice
    Check out my new weapon, weapon of choice

    Don’t be shocked by the tone of my voice
    Check out my new weapon, weapon of choice

    Be careful, we don’t know them
    Be careful, we don’t know them
    Be careful, we don’t know them

    [2x Chorus]

    Organically grown, through the hemisphere I roam
    Too big love to the angels of light
    Yeah, and my girl

    She just don’t understand
    is gone beyond being a man

    As I drift off into the night, I’m in flight
    She’s a Boy scout no doubt
    but I’m going to hold my cool,
    because of easy rules

    Yeah, so move on baby, yeah

    Halfway between the gutter and the stars, yeah
    Halfway between the gutter and the stars, yeah

    [2x Chorus]

  2. So glad I found the lyrics, yet I still don’t understand the bit around the angels, etc. Oh well! Makes me think that I still have much to learn though about that ‘weapon of choice’. Thank you, Richard.

  3. Awesome post, Rik!

    Walken makes me feel like dancing! : )

  4. Walken has always been one of those actors that kinda give me the creeps (him and Rutger Hauer, go figure) not sure why. If you watch the clip close you can see the quick changes between his stunt dancer and him – his double does a quick drop below the view of the camera and then Walker stands up in frame with out cutting away.

Leave a Reply

