Daily “Huh?”: Andy Warhol on Life

Image: Guilty as Charged

Up all night sweating and nervous… what could I use to replace the daily Weirdest Wisdom?

Then it hit me like a ton of bricks.  So I spent the rest of the night fixing the roof that had fallen in on me, but while I was doing that I began to realize that there is a lot of other interesting weirdness out there, and I’m just the guy who can find it.

The Daily “Huh?” is designed to get you thinking in a slightly off-kilter way.  I hope to send you off in new directions so you can bring back excitingly different ideas from far away lands and strange worlds.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you The Daily “Huh?”

Our first guest is the man who made a fortune doing a photo-real painting of a Campbell Tomato Soup can, and who told the world that we will, each of us, have our own 15 minutes of fame:  Andy Warhol.

I found this quote today, and found it fascinating:

“I suppose I have a really loose interpretation of “work” because I think that just being alive is so much work at something you don’t always want to do. Being born is like being kidnapped. And then sold into slavery. People are working every minute. The machinery is always going. Even when you sleep.”

Your thoughts?

4 responses to “Daily “Huh?”: Andy Warhol on Life

  1. The Complaints of a Spoiled War-Time Brat!
    Being born is like being kidnapped. And then sold into slavery. Of course it was wartime. But did that explain why they hid me in a basket and smuggled me into the hotel in order to move to the city. Over crowding they told me when the story came out when I was a child. But what were they doing hiding me under a blanket in a food hamper? If that isn’t being kidnapped I don’t know what is.
    And the slavery bit? Yeah! Like cutting out the cross word puzzles when I was six and stuff like that. But if working for a penny is not being sold into slavery, what is? Sure, keep the children occupied. But I wasn’t dumb. My friends had their money for candy given to them. Slave labor all the way. There is no freedom when you’re born into poverty. You’re just good at telling hard-luck stories!

    • I’ve had interesting reflection on the above, of interest perhaps to writing, generally. I can see that I took Warhol’s line, and did a Stanislavsky method acting take on it, conforming personal incidents to ‘fit’ the ‘mold’ of the original statement. This ironically threw me into a contradiction. I couldn’t completely conform the experience to the ‘huh’ of the original statement. My lesson learned.
      Conclusion: Writing should be a ‘creative art’, not a ‘performing art’. It is important to strive, therefore to ‘have something to say’ above and beyond the experience, (for me). Writing should not be just acting, even if there is a ‘method’.

  2. Interesting quote.

    I tend to agree with Warhol: Life is hard work. Many are here against their will.

    Thanks, Rik.

    • I like what I learned from the Buddhists. We take our birth, on purpose, to be what we choose it to be. Our birth was/is our choice. We take responsibility for our lives, and our hereditary origins.

Leave a Reply

