A Musical Note: Jay Black – Cara Mia Mine

Back in the day, a group called Jay and the Americans blasted the radio with a series of amazing songs.  Amazing, mostly because of the tremendous voice of the lead singer, Jay black.

I saw Jay Black a year or so ago on TV.  Now white-haired, but still striking-looking, he sang this song just to prove that his 70-plus years-old “pipes” still had it.  I was not impressed by his personality, but if I had to personally like every performer I admired, the number would dwindle fast.

Despite the redundancy of the title of “Cara Mia Mine”, this song showcases Black’s astounding voice.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

5 responses to “A Musical Note: Jay Black – Cara Mia Mine

  1. Gee! The singing style and everything – really dates it. It made me realize just that: what was the commonality of the times as far as taste is concerned. You’re right! Fine voice. Do you want the lyrics still? Will get unless you say not to. Some aren’t as clear as this one was!

  2. Really repetitive lyrics, but afraid to delete in case I lose it.

    Cara Mia why must we say goodbye?
    Each time we part my heart wants to die
    Darling hear my prayer
    Cara Mia fair
    I’ll be your love till the end of time
    Cara Mia mine
    Cara Mia mine
    Cara Mia mine
    Cara Mia mine
    Cara Mia why must we say goodbye?
    Each time we part my heart wants to die
    Darling hear my prayer
    Cara Mia fair
    I’ll be your love till the end of time
    Cara Mia mine
    Cara Mia mine
    Cara Mia mine
    Cara Mia mine
    Oh oh oh oh oh
    Oh oh oh oh oh
    Each time we part my heart wants to die
    Darling hear my prayer
    Cara Mia fair
    I’ll be your love till the end of time
    Cara Mia mine
    etc.(My edit!)

  3. Shades of Presley via Ricky Nelson and Buddy Holly? Not sure.
    In a similar vein as the words, if not the musical style. (Definitely not)
    http://carolyndonnell.wordpress.com/2010/05/16/andrea-bocelli-blind-at-12-but-the-velvet-voice-of-the-angels-to-compensate/

    • Thank you for the link, deepercoplors. Really enjoyed that. Amazing breath control in the final ‘syllable’. Amazing singing.

  4. D,
    Yes, thanks for the post. I gave you some feedback there.

Leave a Reply

