Pasteurize: Word of the Day

Pasteurize, v.
To expose (a food, as milk, cheese, yogurt, beer, or wine) to an elevated temperature for a period of time sufficient to destroy certain microorganisms, as those that can produce disease or cause spoilage or undesirable fermentation of food, without radically altering taste or quality.

Milk straight from the source can have contaminants, that is why we pasteurize it before distribution.

Alternate usage:

“How long you been a dairy farmer?

“All my life, and let me tell you, there ain’t nothin’ on this farm I don’t know or see.”

“I guess that’s true.  I’ve heard that nothing gets pasteurize.”

How will you use pasteurize in a sentence today.

6 responses to “Pasteurize: Word of the Day

  1. I had to get rid of the food in the fridge, because the cheese had molded, and the milk could only be described as long past the pasture, long past the pasteurize.
    (with reference to recent post by nrhatch! – thank you for idea).. (Wish I could improve the above!)

  2. I’ve heard that nothing gets pasteurize.
    –> Is this sentence correct?

  3. Ricky,
    Sorry, I didn’t understand. “pun”?
    Should it have “d” at the end or no? It is also correct to write the sentence like you wrote it?

    • A “pun” is a “play on words”. And, no, it is not correct to write a sentence like that… at least normally. It is a way to play with language that I’ve always loved.

      Consider it more as a bit of dialogue, as it is meant to be heard rather than written. I just didn’t have a quick way to record it for that post. ))

  4. Okay, Ricky. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

