A Musical Note: Grand Funk Railroad – I Can Feel Him in the Morning

While I am not a religious person by any stretch of the term, if a pice of music can be said to create a religious experience, perhaps this is just such a piece.

Grand Funk Railroad’s fourth studio album, Survival, was released in 1971, while I was in the Army.  I first heard today’s song when I walked into a club (of sorts) in Killeen, Texas.  I was on a day pass, and this meant that the club which was for servicemen was just about empty.  The main room was very dark, had black light posters all over the place, and I Can Feel Him in the Morning had just started on a jukebox.  Now, jukebox speakers aren’t usually all that good, but this one was extremely loud, and extremely clear.  The effect was palpable.

I am still moved by this amazing tune today, and hope you will be as well.

Turn it up!

3 responses to “A Musical Note: Grand Funk Railroad – I Can Feel Him in the Morning

  1. Hmmm. You and I will never fight over a CD collection. :-] Variety makes life interesting though, doesn’t it?

  2. Funky tune, Rik. I can imagine the impact of black lights while listening.

    My fave by Grand Funk: We’re an American Band!

    Party!

  3. It is a moving song, thanks Rik.

Leave a Reply

