A Musical Note: Buffalo Springfield (Neil Young) – I Am a Child

Buffalo Springfield was an amazing band, one that touched many of us.  Not only did they create the classic, “For What It’s Worth“, their members went on to form other incredible bands like Crosby, Stills and Nash (and sometimes Young), and Loggins and Messina.

In their third, and final album, Last Time Around, Neil Young sings a song he composed called “I Am a Child”.  This number is very much a mirror of the times in which it was born, but more than that, a song that hangs on, one that stays fresh, and can bring honest memories of being a child even now.

Listen to the words, they are worth your attention:

One response to “A Musical Note: Buffalo Springfield (Neil Young) – I Am a Child

  1. Just in case?
    I am a child
    I last a while
    You can`t conceive
    Of the pleasure in my smile
    You hold my hand
    Rough up my hair
    It`s lots of fun
    To have you there

    I gave to you now
    You give to me
    I`d like to know
    What you are
    The sky is blue now
    And so is the sea

    What is the colour
    When black is brown?
    What is the colour?

    You are a man
    You understand
    You pick me up
    And you lay me down again
    You make the rules
    You say what`s fair
    It`s lots of fun
    To have you there.

Leave a Reply

