A Musical Note: Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – Ohio

 If you are old enough to remember the Kent State “Massacre”, then you will remember this song.

If that bit of American shame doesn’t ring a bell, then perhaps the music and the accompanying video will touch you.

The senseless shooting of four students at Kent State in Ohio is something that should never be forgotten.  For those of us who were aware of it at the time, it never will.

Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young: Ohio

2 responses to “A Musical Note: Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – Ohio

  1. Oh! I remember this well. Was at the demonstration here in Toronto in front of the American Consulate. My husband was arrested, and I spent the night with his friends as I was new to the protest life, and had never been that close to an arrest before. But I married a radical. Anti-war, then communist, and then the ecology and environmental work. And I became a bit of a protester for female ‘rights’ and freedom from sexual harassment which ended me up in trouble before harassment was deemed ‘non acceptable’. Yes, it’s been an interesting life, and it continues to be so because of the new frontiers my offspring are involved in. I may be leaving these postings shortly.
    I find today, that if the e-book posting is the norm, that to set up an e-book would cost, (I took some time to figure) what it would take to set up the initial design, etc. for normal paper self-publishing) The expenses are probably not repeatable with the e-book, but costs lower too, with print production. Don’t feel I’m really appreciated, (still, grin grin), on these blogs. And quite frankly, I don’t care anymore whether you or anyone else has not been interested in reading my poeticinteraction blog. Not going to go in that direction now- i.e.me taking the blame, and using myself as an example of what not to do, all of which you have just taught me is not the mentality of the victim, and since I have never blamed others for my grievances, I’ve never been a victim, or rather I haven’t had a victim mentality even though I was a real victim of rape. Anyway, Thank you for giving me the opportunity to learn this about myself. Every day, I really do, get better and better. And it’s reflection that does it, not that illusive pretense of happiness.

  2. Ted Sahl never photographed Kent State, but he was in place for many protests here in California – Berkeley and elsewhere: anti-war protests [Viet Nam], and anti-nuclear demonstrations at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, and the farm labor strikes the 1970’s in California
    Sahl began painting later in life and has photographs and paintings to go in the Martin Luther King library.
    This music would be an excellent companion to a showing of his art and photos.
    See my article at http://www.examiner.com/writing-in-san-jose/ted-sahl-photographer-artist-and-poet-reads-at-thursday-gig

Leave a Reply

