How to Allow Inspiration to Take Over – Future NaNoWriMo Project

Some challenges are more important than others, and some important challenges are meaningful at different times.

Have you ever been tossed out of bed by an idea?

I was this morning, and I couldn’t be happier.  See, I don’t get enough sleep as it is.  I have a cat that demands his breakfast at ungodly hours, takes a few bites, then goes back to bed himself without a qualm.  So, you see, I’m used to being up early.  In fact, while I live on the left coast, I’ve “lived” on right coast time for more than twenty years now.  But that’s a long story in itself.

This morning I was tossed out of bed by the theme for my next novel.  It will be called “Wizard’s Blood“, and perhaps the only thing derivative about it is the title—which is tentative, and easily replaced by a better one, should such a thing come along.  I will be outlining Wizard’s blood on the working vacation I am taking starting tomorrow morning.  Yes, dear friends, I’m gonna be mostly out of touch, and not regularly updating UhW  for a week. 

A brief note about this:  If you are a heavy-duty blogger… if you post to a schedule of 5 or more entries per day, you will need to get away from time to time.  Otherwise your love of blogging could become a duty, a daily imperative, and that can steal the fun from your endeavors.

But, back to the main idea: …and that IS ideas.  Inspiration. 

Image: mikeramm.com

Inspiration has power.  It has energy

Today’s challenge: Make a distinction about inspiration.

What?  OK, allow me to get all Californiafruit and nuts” for a moment.  Making a distinction about a thing is taking the steps to make it real for yourself.  It is the mental movement of saying, “out loud” that such and such is so.  In our daily lives we often notice themes, ideas, notions, but unless we make a distinction about them, they have little value.

An example I like to make is one I call the “New Car Syndrome”.

You’ve decided on the next car you want to buy, new or used… or you’ve made up your mind about the next cool cellphone you must own.  At the moment you make that decision a remarkable thing happens.  You begin to see that car, that phone, that… whatever, everywhere you go.  What happened?  You made a distinction, and now you cannot help but see the object of that distinction everywhere you look.  Is it magic?  Is it…erm,  wooo woooo?  Not at all.  You’ve called a distinction into being, and the power of it lights up your ability to perceive what is around you.

For today, I’d like you to make a distinction about inspiration.  I want you to adjust your consciousness… to tune it, to see new ideas.  They’re everywhere, if you can only spot them and let them in.

They might even make you leap out of bed.

Your thoughts?

3 responses to “How to Allow Inspiration to Take Over – Future NaNoWriMo Project

  1. Enjoy your break, Rik. I’m off to Athlone myself for the weekend. My regular schedule will continue from Tuesday.

  2. William Blake. To hold eternity in a grain of sand, heaven in a wild flower. That’s inspiration. Enjoy your holiday.

    • I goggled the whole poem. Did not quite get the first line right, but I did manage to read it. Auguries of innocence, is the collection it’s from. Know you don’t want me to publish it here, and it is long. But please know, I thoroughly recommend to anyone the reading of it! The best to you all.

Leave a Reply

