The Daily “Huh?” – The Entirety of the Sky

Image: Guilty as Charged

The Entirety of the Sky

 

It was moving day, and one of the last things to load onto the borrowed truck was the full length mirror that had lived upon a door for so many years.

We pried it from its ancient perch, and two of us carried it through the house, stepping with light feet over boxes and the odd item waiting to be loaded.

Once outside, and for a reason I cannot remember, we turned it parallel to the ground so it faced the sky above.

To look into the depths of that glassy, glossy surface was to astound the mind, as the sky above was now captured, in its entirety, and held in our hands.

I wondered then, what would happen if I released the old mirror and allowed myself to fall into it.  Would I fall down into the sky?

The question took me, and I found myself letting go and watching as that sky-filled surface fell toward the ground with impossible slowness.

There was a crash of light, a shattering of the sky, and less important, the sound of a mirror as it went to pieces.

It was a thing of beauty, the breaking of the mirror, no author of ill fortune, I was sure.

And when I looked at what had happened.  When I knelt down and peered into the ragged, jagged pieces of leftover mirror…

I saw that each remaining bit, no matter how large or small, yes, each one, held in it, the entirety of the sky.

~Richard Scott

One response to “The Daily “Huh?” – The Entirety of the Sky

  1. Yes, I remember this. But I can’t remember where I read it before. Probably on one of your projects. So I give you gratitude, which I would be grateful for rather than a happiness built on the possibility of denial or the assumption that we have the definitive answer.

    “Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow.”
    – Melody Beattie.

Leave a Reply

