Staying in Touch

This post is a bit late because I was SKYPING with an old friend from the WeBook days.

Karen Gibson was working on her book “Chasing SANE” while I was working on FIVE on WeBook, and we got to be friends.

She has since surpassed me and published her book, as well as another non-fiction piece, and is currently writing a sequel to her novel.  You can find her blog, “Mirror, Mirror” on my blogroll if you’d like to visit her and say “Hi”. 

Image: anotherfinedesign.com

What’s the point?  Well, for starters, she’s had experience using CreateSpace, Amazon.com’s on-line publishing service.  She is knowledgeable, and was able to fill me in on a lot of the details.  Pretty valuable, I’d say.  And I’ve been out of touch for a good many months.

What I’m getting at is this: The people you meet in the writing game all have something to say.  You may—or may not—always agree with what they have to say, what they suggest, but their ideas will always be fresh, and even if you can’t use them as presented, the chances are good they will spark other ideas.

A lot of people call themselves writers, but only a very few of us really are.  Don’t look around, you know who I mean.  Writers are the people who find they must write every day in one form or another.  They are the people who eat, sleep, and breathe writing, and they belong on your contact list.  Always.

Bottom line, don’t forget to cultivate your writing friends.  Not only may they have information that you could use, you will likely be able to contribute to them.

Yeah.  That’s the ticket.  Think Paris, think garrets, think sidewalk cafe’s and brainstorming with your writing buddies. 

Yeah.

7 responses to “Staying in Touch

  1. I do not write every day. I do consider myself a writer. Not only that but life continues to write my story, and change the perspective that will mean a better rewrite. I will be satisfied to be published (big time) after my death. With all the sources available, I’m beginning to think self-publishing is a push-over. Just a hundred copies at a time. Marketing could be an interesting ‘hobby’.

  2. Love it! I have Karen on Skype, too, and I look forward to chatting with her.

  3. The writing connections I’ve made while blogging have made it worth it all the effort. There are so many fabulous people out there that have something great to share. Thanks for being one of them!

  4. Thanks Rik. For the pep talk and the link. I will go and look at her website when I get a chance.

  5. I’d love to brainstorm with writing bodies at a sidewalk cafe or garret in Paris!

    Excellent suggestion, Rik. 8)

  6. Good comments, enjoy your blogging.

  7. A lot of people call themselves writers, but only a very few of us really are. Don’t look around, you know who I mean.
    Good advice. Just trying to sign off. Don’t need to go to Paris, I can ‘hang out’ with my artiste friends, and writers at the cafe here in good ole’ Toronto, Canada.

Leave a Reply

