A Musical Note: Donovan – Hurdy Gurdy Man

We’ve heard from Donovan before on our Musical Note segment

Today I want to get into what was perhaps Donovan Leitch’s most “hard rock” (and psychedelic)  song, “Hurdy Gurdy Man”.  The song was written and recorded in 1968.

Take a listen.  I think you’ll enjoy Hurdy Gurdy Man by Donovan.

2 responses to “A Musical Note: Donovan – Hurdy Gurdy Man

  1. Love the PPT with the song! Talking about a song bringing back memories. Funny how we sang songs back in the 60s as a child and had no idea of their true meaning. So, different to listen to it again now as an adult. I think we fall more for the tune as a child and the message as an adult. Not in all cases, but those statement songs from the 60s anyway.

  2. I’ve always had trouble with lyrics. Following the melody and instrumentation has generally taken all my powers of concentration. It was interesting to find out that Donovan was speaking of Jesus, but again, although I recognized the melody immediately, I had to go to the lyrics page for insight. 1968 was a ‘bad’ year for me, and for America generally: Manson, the murder at a Rolling Stones rock concert, and me going to hospital after I took some LSD. Never again! I was 26 and that ended my ‘acting career’. Made me get busy and develop myself, as all set backs end up doing. Hail 1968 and Donovan.

Leave a Reply

